The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus

    Northern Illinois University
   
 
  Jul 29, 2017
 
 
    
Skip Navigation
2010-2011 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


For detailed information regarding Graduate School deadlines pertaining to application, admission, and graduation, see the official Graduate School Calendar, which is available from the Graduate School and at our website, www.grad.niu.edu.

Fall Semester 2010

August 16-20, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 23, Monday
Beginning of classes
September 6, Monday
Labor Day Holiday (university closed)
November 24, Wednesday
Beginning of Thanksgiving break
November 29 , Monday
Resumption of classes
December 6-11, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 11, Saturday
Commencement; fall 2010 degree date

Spring Semester 2011

January 10-14, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 17, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday (university closed)
January 18, Tuesday
Beginning of classes
March 13, Sunday
Beginning of spring break
March 21, Monday
Resumption of classes
May 6, Friday
Reading Day
May 7, 9-13, Saturday, Monday-Friday
Final examinations
May 13, Friday
Commencement; spring 2011 degree date

Summer Session 2011

June 13, Monday
Beginning of classes
July 4, Monday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
August 5, Friday
End of summer session
August 6, Saturday
Summer 2011 degree date