Oct 22, 2018  
2013-2014 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2013-2014 Undergraduate Catalog [NOTE!!!! THIS IS AN ARCHIVED CATALOG. FOR THE CURRENT CATALOG, GO TO CATALOG.NIU.EDU]

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2013

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 19-23, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 26, Monday
Classes begin
September 1, Sunday
Last day to apply for fall 2013 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
September 1, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
September 2, Monday
Labor Day (university closed)
September 4, Wednesday
Last day to set privacy settings in MyNIU to suppress printing of directory information for the university phone book
September 6, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of course department 
September 6, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of major college
September 9, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of I (incomplete) from the spring semester 2013
September 10, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 20, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 18, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 20, Sunday
End of the first half of the semester
October 21, Monday
Beginning of second half of the semester
October 27, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
October 28, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
November 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
November 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course, or from the university (with academic jeopardy)
November 27-December 1, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break
December 2, Monday
Classes resume
December 2, Monday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester
December 7, Saturday

Classes end
December 9, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of I (incomplete) from the summer term, 2013
December 9-14, Monday-Saturday

Final examinations
December 15, Sunday
End of fall semester
December 15, Sunday
Undergraduate fall commencement and degree conferral

Spring Semester 2014

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 6-10, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 13, Monday
Classes begin
January 19, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
January 20, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed)
January 22, Wednesday
Last day to set privacy settings in MyNIU to suppress printing of directory information for the university phone book
January 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of course department 
January 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of major college
January 28, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
January 31, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 1, Saturday
Last day to apply for spring 2014 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
February 7, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
March 7, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 8, Saturday
End of the first half of the semester
March 9-16, Sunday-Sunday
Spring recess
March 17, Monday
Classes resume and beginning of second half of semester
March 23, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
March 24, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
April 4, Friday

Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
April 11, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course, or from the university (with academic jeopardy)
April 14, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of I (incomplete) from the fall semester 2013
April 18, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester
May 1, Thursday
Classes end
May 2, Friday
Reading Day
May 3, 5-9, Saturday, Monday-Friday
Final examinations
May 10, Saturday
End of spring semester
May 10, Saturday
Undergraduate spring commencement and degree conferral

Summer Session 2014

June 15, Sunday
Last day to apply for summer 2014 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
June 16, Monday
Classes begin
June 18, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-session or full-session course via self-service in MyNIU
June 19, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
June 24, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
June 25, Wednesday
Last day to set privacy settings in MyNIU to suppress printing of directory information for the university phone book
July 1, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-session course
July 1, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in first-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
July 4, Friday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
July 10, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-session course
July 10, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in full-session courses to withdraw from the university
July 13, Sunday
End of the first-half-session
July 14, Monday
Beginning of second-half-session
July 16, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU
July 17, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
July 17, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to declare a major for the summer session
July 29, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-session course
July 29, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-session courses to withdraw from the university (with academic jeopardy)
August 10, Sunday
End of summer session and degree conferral