The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus

    Northern Illinois University
   
 
  Sep 21, 2017
 
 
    
2015-2016 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2015

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 17-21, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 24, Monday
Classes begin
August 30, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
September 1, Tuesday
Last day to apply for Fall 2015 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
September 4, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of course department
September 4, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of major college
September 7, Monday
Labor Day (university closed)
September 7, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Spring 2015 semester
September 11, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 11, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 18, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 16, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 18, Sunday
End of the first-half of the semester
October 19, Monday
Beginning of the second-half of the semester
October 25, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
October 26, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
October 26, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
November 6, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
November 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
November 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half semester courses to withdraw from the university
November 20, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester
November 25-29, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break
November 30, Monday
Classes resume
December 5, Saturday
Classes end
December 7, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Summer 2015 session
December 7-12, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 12, Saturday
End of fall semester
December 13, Sunday
Undergraduate fall commencement and degree conferral

Spring Semester 2016

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 11-15, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 18, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed)
January 19, Tuesday
Classes begin
January 24, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
January 29, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of course department
January 29, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of major college
February 1, Monday
Last day to apply for Spring 2016 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
February 5, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 5, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
March 11, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 12, Saturday
End of the first-half of the semester
March 13-20, Sunday - Sunday
Spring recess
March 21, Monday
Classes resume and beginning of second-half of semester
March 27, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
March 28, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
March 28, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
April 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
April 10, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of ‘I’ (incomplete) from the Fall 2015 semester
April 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
April 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-semester courses to withdraw from the university
April 22, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester
May 5, Thursday
Classes end
May 6, Friday
Reading Day
May 7, 9-13, Saturday, Monday - Friday
Final examinations
May 14, Saturday
Undergraduate spring commencement and degree conferral
May 14, Saturday
End of spring semester

Summer Session 2016

June 13, Monday
Classes begin
June 15, Wednesday
Last day to apply for Summer 2016 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
June 15, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-session or full-session course via self-service in MyNIU
June 16, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit with major college approval
June 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half session or full session course with approval of course department
June 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half or full session course with approval of major college
June 20, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-session from credit to audit or from audit to credit
June 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-session course
June 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in first-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
July 4, Monday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
July 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-session course
July 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in full-session courses to withdraw
July 10, Sunday
End of the first-half session
July 11, Monday
Beginning of second-half session
July 13, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU
July 13, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to declare a major effective summer session
July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-course with approval of course department
July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-session course with approval of major college
July 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-session course
July 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
August 7, Sunday
End of summer session
August 7, Sunday
Degree conferral