The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus

    Northern Illinois University
   
 
  Nov 18, 2017
 
 
    
2017-2018 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2017

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 21-25, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 28, Monday
Classes begin
September 1, Friday
Last day to apply for Fall 2017 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
September 3, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
September 4, Monday
Labor Day (university closed)
September 5, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester course with approval of course department
September 5, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester course with approval of major college
September 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a full-semester course with approval of course department
September 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a full-semester course with approval of major college office
September 11, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Spring 2017 semester
September 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 20, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 22, Sunday
End of the first-half of the semester
October 23, Monday
Beginning of the second-half of the semester
October 29, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
October 30, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
October 30, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
November 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
November 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
November 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half semester courses to withdraw from the university
November 22-26, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break
November 27, Monday
Classes resume
November 27, Monday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester
December 9, Saturday
Classes end
December 11, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Summer 2017 session
December 11-16, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 17, Sunday
End of fall semester
December 17, Sunday
Undergraduate fall commencement and degree conferral

Spring Semester 2018

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 8-12, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 15, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed)
January 16, Tuesday
Classes begin
January 21, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
January 22, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester course with approval of course department
January 22, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester course with approval of major college
January 26, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a  full-semester course with approval of course department
January 26, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a full-semester course with approval of major college
February 1, Thursday
Last day to apply for Spring 2018 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
February 2, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 2, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 9, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
March 9, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 10, Saturday
End of the first-half of the semester
March 11-18, Sunday - Sunday
Spring recess
March 19, Monday
Classes resume and beginning of second-half of semester
March 25, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
March 26, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
March 26, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
April 6, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
April 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
April 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-semester courses to withdraw from the university
April 16, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Fall 2017 semester
April 20, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester
May 3, Thursday
Classes end
May 4, Friday
Reading Day
May 5, 7-11, Saturday, Monday - Friday
Final examinations
May 12, Saturday
Undergraduate spring commencement and degree conferral
May 13, Sunday
End of spring semester

Summer Session 2018

June 15, Friday
Last day to apply for Summer 2018 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
June 18, Monday
Classes begin
June 20, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-session or full-session course via self-service in MyNIU
June 21, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit with major college approval
June 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half session or full session course with approval of course department
June 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half or full session course with approval of major college 
June 25, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-session from credit to audit or from audit to credit
June 29, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-session course
June 29, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in first-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
July 4, Wednesday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
July 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-session course
July 13, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in full-session courses to withdraw
July 15, Sunday
End of the first-half session
July 16, Monday
Beginning of second-half session
July 18, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU
July 18, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
July 20, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to declare a major effective for the summer 2018 session
July 20, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-course with approval of course department
July 20, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-session course with approval of major college 
July 27, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-session course
July 27, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
August 12, Sunday
Degree conferral
August 12, Sunday
End of Summer session