Jan 16, 2019  
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog 
    
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog

Academic Calendar


For detailed information regarding Graduate School deadlines pertaining to application, admission, and graduation, see the official Graduate School Calendar, which is available on the website, www.niu.edu/grad.

Fall Semester 2018

August 20-24, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 27, Monday
Beginning of classes
September 3, Monday
Labor Day Holiday (university closed)
November 21, Wednesday
Beginning of Thanksgiving break
November 26, Monday
Resumption of classes
December 10-15, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 15, Saturday
Commencement ceremony

Spring Semester 2019

January 7-11, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 14, Tuesday
Beginning of classes
January 21, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday (university closed)
March 10, Sunday
Beginning of spring break
March 18, Monday
Resumption of classes
May 3, Friday
Reading Day
May 4, 6-9, Saturday, Monday-Friday
Final examinations
May 10, Friday
Commencement ceremony

Summer Session 2019

June 17, Monday
Beginning of classes
July 4, Thursday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
July 5, Friday
University closed
August 11, Sunday
End of summer session