The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus

    Northern Illinois University
   
 
  Feb 20, 2018
 
 
    
2007-2008 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


The current Schedule of Classes should be consulted for registration dates.

Fall Semester 2007

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 20-24, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 27, Monday
Beginning of classes
August 31, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course
September 3, Monday
Labor Day (no classes)
September 6, Thursday
Last day to request no release of directory information at the Office of Registration and Records
September 11, Tuesday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 14, Friday
Last day to change a course from regular grading to pass/fail
Last day to change a first-half-semester course from pass/fail to regular grading or from regular grading to pass/fail, or from audit to credit or credit to audit
September 21, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 5, Friday
Last day to change a course from pass/fail to regular grading
Last day to resolve an NR grade from summer session 2007
Last day to designate a course to be repeated under the undergraduate repeat policy
October 19, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 20, Saturday
End of the first half of the semester
October 22, Monday
Beginning of second half of semester
October 26, Friday
Last day to add or drop a second-half-semester course
November 1, Thursday
Last day for an undergraduate to pay fee for December 2007 graduation
November 2, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to make up a grade of incomplete from spring semester or summer session 2007
November 9, Friday
Last day to change a second-half-semester course from regular grading to pass/fail or from pass/fail to regular grading, or from audit to credit or from credit to audit
November 16, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
November 20, Tuesday
Beginning of Thanksgiving break after regularly scheduled classes
November 26, Monday

Resumption of classes
Last day to change or declare a major for the fall semester
December 10-15, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 15, Saturday
End of fall semester
December 16, Sunday
Commencement

Spring Semester 2008

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 7-11, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 14, Monday
Beginning of classes
January 18, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course
January 21, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday (no classes)
January 24, Thursday
Last day to request no release of directory information at the Office of Registration and Records
January 29, Tuesday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 1, Friday
Last day to change a course from regular grading to pass/fail
Last day to change a first-half-semester course from pass/fail to regular grading or from regular grading to pass/fail, or from audit to credit or from credit to audit
February 8, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
February 22, Friday
Last day to change a course from pass/fail to regular grading
Last day to resolve an NR grade from fall semester 2007
Last day to designate a course to be repeated under the undergraduate repeat policy
March 7, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 8, Saturday
End of first half of semester. Beginning of spring break after regularly scheduled classes
March 17, Monday
Resumption of classes. Beginning of second half of semester
March 21, Friday
Last day to add or drop a second-half-semester course
March 28, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a grade of incomplete from fall semester 2007
April 1,Tuesday
Last day for an undergraduate to pay fee for May 2008 graduation
April 4, Friday
Last day to change a second-half-semester course from regular grading to pass/fail or from pass/fail to regular grading, or from audit to credit or from credit to audit
April 11, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
April 18, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major for the spring semester
May 2, Friday
Reading Day
May 3, 5-9, Saturday, Monday-Friday
Final examinations
May 9, Friday
End of spring semester
May 10, Saturday
Commencement