Jul 20, 2024  
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2008-2009 Undergraduate Catalog [NOTE!!!! THIS IS AN ARCHIVED CATALOG. FOR THE CURRENT CATALOG, GO TO CATALOG.NIU.EDU]

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2008

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 18-22, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 25, Monday
Beginning of classes
August 29, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course
September 1, Monday
Labor Day (no classes)
September 3, Wednesday
Last day to request no release of directory information at the Office of Registration and Records
September 5, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course
September 8, Monday
Last day to change a first-half-semester course from audit to credit or credit to audit
September 12, Thursday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 19, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 3, Friday
Last day to resolve an NR grade from summer session 2008
Last day to designate a course to be repeated under the undergraduate repeat policy
October 17, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 18, Saturday
End of the first half of the semester
October 20, Monday
Beginning of second half of semester
October 24, Friday
Last day to add or drop a second-half-semester course
December 2, Tuesday
Last day for an undergraduate to make up a grade of incomplete from spring semester 2008
November 7, Friday
Last day to change a second-half-semester course from audit to credit or from credit to audit
November 14, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
November 21, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major for the fall semester
November 25, Tuesday
Beginning of Thanksgiving break after regularly scheduled classes
December 1, Monday

Resumption of classes
December 8-13, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 13, Saturday
End of fall semester
December 14, Sunday
Commencement

Spring Semester 2009

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 5-9, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 12, Monday
Beginning of classes
January 16, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course
January 19, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday (no classes)
January 21, Wednesday
Last day to request no release of directory information at the Office of Registration and Records
January 26, Monday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
January 30, Friday
Last day to change a first-half-semester course from audit to credit or from credit to audit
February 6, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
February 20, Friday
Last day to designate a course to be repeated under the undergraduate repeat policy
February 24, Tuesday
Last day for an undergraduate to make up an incomplete from summer session 2008
March 6, Friday
Last day for an undergraduate to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 7, Saturday
End of first half of semester. Beginning of spring break after regularly scheduled classes
March 16, Monday
Resumption of classes. Beginning of second half of semester
March 20, Friday
Last day to add or drop a second-half-semester course
March 27 , Friday

Last day to change a second-half-semester course from audit to credit or from credit to audit
April 10, Friday
Last day to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
April 17, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major for the spring semester
May 1, Friday
Reading Day
May 2, 4-8, Saturday, Monday-Friday
Final examinations
May 8, Friday
End of spring semester
May 9, Saturday
Commencement