Apr 22, 2021  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2021

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions.

August 16-20, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings.

August 23, Monday
Classes begin.

August 29, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course(s) via self-service in MyNIU.

September 1, Wednesday
Last day to apply for Fall 2021 graduation via self-service in MyNIU.

September 5, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester course with approval from the offering department.

September 5, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add a full-semester course with approval from the offering department.

September 5, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to course drop a full-semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

September 6, Monday
Labor Day (university closed).

September 7, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a grade of “I” (incomplete) from the Spring 2021 semester.

September 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

September 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

September 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal & semester withdrawal from a first-half-semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

October 17, Sunday
End of the first-half of the semester.

October 18, Monday
Beginning of the second-half of the semester.
                                                                   
October 24, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU.

October 29, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal or semester withdrawal from a full semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

October 31, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval from the offering department.

November 5, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

November 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal from a second half-semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

November 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half semester courses to request a semester withdrawal through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

November 24-28, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break.

November 29, Monday
Classes resume.

November 29, Monday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester.

December 4, Saturday
Classes end.

December 6, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a grade of “I” (incomplete) from the Summer 2021 session.

December 6-11, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations.

December 12, Sunday
End of fall semester.
Undergraduate fall commencement.

Spring Semester 2022

November-January
New student and family orientation sessions.

January 10-14, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings.

January 17, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday (university closed).

January 18, Tuesday
Classes begin.

January 23, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course(s) via self-service in MyNIU.

January 30, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester course with approval from the offering department.

January 30, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add a full-semester course with approval from the offering department.

January 30, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course drop a full-semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

February 1, Tuesday
Last day to apply for Spring 2022 graduation via self-service in MyNIU.

February 4, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

February 4, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

February 18, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal from a first-half-semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

March 12, Saturday
End of the first-half of the semester.

March 13-20, Sunday-Sunday
Spring recess.

March 21, Monday
Classes resume and beginning of second half of semester.

March 27, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU.

April 1, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal or semester withdrawal from a full semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

April 3, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department.

April 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

April 12, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Fall 2021 semester.

April 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal from a second-half-semester course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

April 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-semester courses to request a semester withdrawal through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

April 25, Monday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester.

May 5, Thursday
Classes end.

May 6, Friday
Reading Day.

May 7, 9-13, Saturday, Monday - Friday
Final examinations.

May 13, Friday
End of spring semester.

May 14, Saturday
Undergraduate spring commencement.
 

Summer Session 2022

June 13, Monday
Classes begin.

June 15, Wednesday
Last day to apply for Summer 2022 graduation via self-service in MyNIU.

June 15, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a first-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU.

June 15, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to perform a session drop for first-half-session course(s) via self-service in MyNIU.

June 16, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit with major college approval.

June 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-session course with approval from the offering department.

June 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course drop for a first-half-session course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

June 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a full-session course via self-service in MyNIU.

June 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to perform a session drop for a full-session course(s) via self-service in MyNIU.

June 20, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-session from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

June 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal from a first-half-session course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

June 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a session withdrawal from a first-half-session course(s) through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

June 24, Friday
Last day for students to add a full-session course with permission from the offering department.

July 4, Monday
Independence Day observed (university closed).

July 10, Sunday
End of the first-half session.

July 11, Monday
Beginning of second-half session.

July 13, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or course drop a second-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU.

July 13, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to request a semester withdrawal for the second-half-session through MyNIU.

July 13, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit.

July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in full-session courses to request a course withdrawal through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled in full-session courses to request a session withdrawal through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-session course with approval from the course offering department.

July 15, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course drop for a second-half-session course through their college advising office or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

July 18, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to declare a major effective for the summer 2022 session.

July 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to request a course withdrawal from a second-half-session course through their college advising office, or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

July 22, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-session courses to request a session withdrawal through their college advising office, or the Academic Advising Office for those students with no college affiliation.

August 7, Sunday
End of Summer Session.