Jan 26, 2022  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Calendar


Other dates and deadlines may apply for 14-week and dynamically dated (non-standard) courses. Please refer to MyNIU for course-specific dates.

2021 FALL UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC CALENDAR

FULL SEMESTER

FIRST HALF-SEMESTER

SECOND HALF-SEMESTER

  Aug. 23 - Dec. 12 Aug. 23 - Oct. 17 Oct. 18 - Dec. 12
Classes begin Aug. 23, Monday Aug. 23, Monday Oct. 18, Monday
Last day to add or drop course(s) via self-service in MyNIU Aug. 29, Sunday Aug. 29, Sunday Oct. 24, Sunday
Last day to apply for Fall graduation via self-service in MyNIU Sept. 1, Wednesday Sept. 1, Wednesday Sept. 1, Wednesday
Last day to add a course with approval from the offering department Sept. 5, Sunday Sept. 5, Sunday Oct. 31, Sunday
Last day to drop a course through advisor Sept. 5, Sunday N/A N/A
Labor Day (university closed) Sept. 6, Monday Sept. 6, Monday N/A
Last day to make up a grade of Incomplete from the Spring 2021 semester Sept. 7, Tuesday Sept. 7, Tuesday Sept. 7, Tuesday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit Sept. 10, Friday Sept. 10, Friday Nov. 5, Friday
Last day to request a course withdrawal or semester withdrawal through advisor Oct. 29, Friday Sept. 24, Friday Nov. 19, Friday
Thanksgiving break Nov. 24, Wednesday - Nov. 28, Sunday N/A Nov. 24, Wednesday - Nov. 28, Sunday
Classes resume after Thanksgiving break Nov. 29, Monday N/A Nov. 29, Monday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester Nov. 29, Monday Nov. 29, Monday Nov. 29, Monday
Classes end Dec. 4, Saturday Oct. 17, Sunday Dec. 4, Saturday
Final Examinations Dec 6, Monday - Dec. 11, Saturday As set by instructor Dec 6, Monday - Dec. 11, Saturday
Last day to make up a grade of Incomplete from the Summer 2021 session Dec. 8, Wednesday Dec. 8, Wednesday Dec. 8, Wednesday
Undergraduate fall commencement Dec. 12, Sunday Dec. 12, Sunday Dec. 12, Sunday

2022 SPRING UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC CALENDAR

FULL SEMESTER

FIRST HALF-SEMESTER

SECOND HALF-SEMESTER

  Jan 17 - May 13 Jan. 17 - March 12 March 21 - May 13
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed) Jan. 17, Monday Jan. 17, Monday Jan. 17, Monday
Classes begin Jan. 18, Tuesday Jan. 18, Tuesday March 21, Monday
Last day to add or drop course(s) via self-service in MyNIU Jan. 23, Sunday Jan. 23, Sunday March 27, Sunday
Last day to add a course with approval from the offering department Jan. 30, Sunday Jan. 30, Sunday April 3, Sunday
Last day to drop a course through advisor Jan. 30, Sunday N/A N/A
Last day to apply for Spring graduation via self-service in MyNIU Feb. 1, Tuesday Feb. 1, Tuesday Feb. 1, Tuesday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit Feb. 4, Friday Feb. 4, Friday April 8, Friday
Spring Recess March 13, Sunday - March 20, Sunday N/A N/A
Classes resume after Spring Recess March 21, Monday N/A March 21, Monday
Last day to request a course withdrawal or semester withdrawal through advisor April 1, Friday Feb. 18, Friday April 22, Friday
Last day to make up a grade of Incomplete from the Fall 2021 semester April 12, Tuesday April 12, Tuesday April 12, Tuesday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester April 25, Monday April 25, Monday April 25, Monday
Classes end May 5, Thursday March 12, Saturday May 5, Thursday
Reading Day May 6, Friday N/A May 6, Friday
Final Examinations May 7 (Sat.), May 9-13 (Mon-Fri.) As set by instructor May 7 (Sat.), May 9-13 (Mon-Fri.)
Undergraduate spring commencement May 14, Saturday May 14, Saturday May 14, Saturday

2022 SUMMER UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC CALENDAR

FULL SESSION

FIRST HALF-SESSION

SECOND HALF-SESSION

  June 13 - Aug. 7 June 13 - July 10 July 11 - Aug. 7
Classes begin June 13, Monday June 13, Monday July 11, Monday
Last day to apply for Summer graduation via self-service in MyNIU June 15, Wednesday June 15, Wednesday June 15, Wednesday
Last day to add or drop course(s) via self-service in MyNIU June 19, Sunday June 15, Wednesday July 13, Wednesday
Last day to change a course from credit to audit or from audit to credit June 20, Monday June 16, Thursday July 14, Thursday
Last day to add a course with approval from the offering department June 24, Friday June 17, Friday July 15, Friday
Last day to drop a course through advisor N/A June 17, Friday July 15, Friday
Independence Day observed (university closed) July 4, Monday July 4, Monday N/A
Last day to request a course withdrawal or session withdrawal through advisor July 15, Friday June 24, Friday July 22, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the summer session July 18, Monday July 18, Monday July 18, Monday
Classes end Aug. 7, Sunday July 10, Sunday Aug. 7, Sunday