Jul 21, 2024  
2024-2025 Graduate Catalog 
    
2024-2025 Graduate Catalog

Academic Calendar


2024 FALL GRADUATE ACADEMIC CALENDAR
FULL SEMESTER (16-WEEK)
FIRST HALF-SEMESTER (8-WEEK)
SECOND HALF-SEMESTER (8-WEEK)
14-WEEK
  Aug. 26 - Dec. 14 Aug. 26 - Oct. 20 Oct. 21 - Dec. 14 Sept. 9 - Dec. 14
Classes Begin Aug. 26, Monday Aug. 26, Monday Oct. 21, Monday Sept. 9, Monday
Labor Day (university closed) Sept. 2, Monday Sept. 2, Monday N/A N/A
Last day to add or drop course(s) via self-service in MyNIU Sept. 8, Sunday Sept. 1, Sunday Sept. 8, Sunday Sept. 8, Sunday
Last day to make up a grade of Incomplete from the Spring 2024 semester Sept. 10, Tuesday Sept. 10, Tuesday Sept. 10, Tuesday Sept. 10, Tuesday
Last day to submit Application for Graduation for Fall 2024 in MyNIU Sept. 15, Sunday Sept. 15, Sunday Sept. 15, Sunday Sept. 15, Sunday
Last day for Fall 2024 graduates to submit Request for Oral Defense of Thesis or Dissertation Oct. 11, Friday Oct. 11, Friday Oct. 11, Friday Oct. 11, Friday
Last day to change a course grading option (audit/credit) Oct. 20, Sunday Sept. 22, Sunday Nov. 17, Sunday Oct. 27, Sunday
Last possible day for Fall 2024 graduates to hold an Oral Defense Nov. 1, Friday Nov. 1, Friday Nov. 1, Friday Nov. 1, Friday
Last day to withdraw from current course/term Nov. 3, Sunday Sept. 29, Sunday Nov. 24, Sunday Nov. 10, Sunday
General Election Day (no classes) Nov. 5, Tuesday N/A Nov. 5, Tuesday Nov. 5, Tuesday
Last day for Fall 2024 graduates to submit Results of Oral Defense form Nov. 8, Friday Nov. 8, Friday Nov. 8, Friday Nov. 8, Friday
Last day for Fall 2024 graduates to submit post-defense version of Thesis or Dissertation Nov. 8, Friday Nov. 8, Friday Nov. 8, Friday Nov. 8, Friday
Last day for departments to submit Certificate of Graduate Study forms Nov. 15, Friday Nov. 15, Friday Nov. 15, Friday Nov. 15, Friday
Last day to change a major to be effective for summer session Nov. 25, Monday Nov. 25, Monday Nov. 25, Monday Nov. 25, Monday
Thanksgiving break Nov. 27, Wednesday - Dec. 1, Sunday N/A Nov. 27, Wednesday - Dec. 1, Sunday Nov. 27, Wednesday - Dec. 1, Sunday
Last day to add a course, change credit hours, or swap a course in special circumstances with Graduate School approval Dec. 1, Sunday Oct. 13, Sunday Dec. 1, Sunday Dec. 1, Sunday
Classes resume after Thanksgiving Break Dec. 2, Monday N/A Dec. 2, Monday Dec. 2, Monday
Last day for departments to submit Comprehensive Exam Report forms Dec. 6, Friday Dec. 6, Friday Dec. 6, Friday Dec. 6, Friday
Classes end Dec. 7, Saturday Oct. 20,  Sunday Dec. 7, Saturday Dec. 7, Saturday
Final Examinations Dec. 9, Monday - Dec. 14, Saturday As set by instructor Dec. 9, Monday - Dec. 14, Saturday Dec. 9, Monday - Dec. 14, Saturday
Last day to make up a grade of Incomplete from the Summer 2024 semester Dec. 11, Wednesday Dec. 11, Wednesday Dec. 11, Wednesday Dec. 11, Wednesday
Fall Graduate Commencement Ceremony Dec. 14, Saturday Dec. 14, Saturday Dec. 14, Saturday Dec. 14, Saturday
For deadlines for dynamic courses, please contact your department.
2025 SPRING GRADUATE ACADEMIC DEADLINES
FULL SEMESTER (16-WEEK)
FIRST HALF-SEMESTER (8-WEEK)
SECOND HALF-SEMESTER (8-WEEK)
14-WEEK
  Jan. 13 - May 9 Jan. 13 - March 8 March 17 - May 9 Jan. 27 - May 9
Classes Begin Jan. 13, Monday Jan. 13, Monday March 17, Monday Jan. 27, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed) Jan. 20, Monday Jan. 20, Monday N/A N/A
Last day to add or drop course(s) via self-service in MyNIU Jan. 26, Sunday Jan. 19, Sunday Jan. 26, Sunday Jan. 26, Sunday
Last day to submit Application for Graduation for Spring 2025 in MyNIU Feb. 14, Friday Feb. 14, Friday Feb. 14, Friday Feb. 14, Friday
Last day for Spring 2025 graduates to submit Request for Oral Defense of Thesis or Dissertation March 7, Friday March 7, Friday March 7, Friday March 7, Friday
Last day to change a course grading option (audit/credit) March 9, Sunday Feb. 9, Sunday April 13, Sunday March 23, Sunday
Spring Recess March 9, Sunday - March 16, Sunday March 9, Sunday - March 16, Sunday N/A March 9, Sunday - March 16, Sunday
Classes resume after Spring Recess March 17, Monday N/A March 17, Monday March 17, Monday
Last day to withdraw from current course/term March 30, Sunday Feb. 16, Sunday April 20, Sunday April 6, Sunday
Last possible day for Spring 2025 graduates to hold an Oral Defense March 28, Friday March 28, Friday March 28, Friday March 28, Friday
Last day for Spring 2025 graduates to submit Results of Oral Defense form April 4, Friday April 4, Friday April 4, Friday April 4, Friday
Last day for Spring 2025 graduates to submit post-defense version of Thesis or Dissertation April 4, Friday April 4, Friday April 4, Friday April 4, Friday
Last day for departments to submit Certificate of Graduate Study forms April 15, Tuesday April 15, Tuesday April 15, Tuesday April 15, Tuesday
Fall 2024 Incompletes expire April 16, Wednesday April 16, Wednesday April 16, Wednesday April 16, Wednesday
Last day to change a major to be effective for summer session April 21, Monday April 21, Monday April 21, Monday April 21, Monday
Last day to add a course, change credit hours, or swap a course in special circumstances with Graduate School approval April 27, Sunday March 2, Sunday April 27, Sunday April 27, Sunday
Classes end May 1, Thursday March 8, Saturday May 1, Thursday May 1, Thursday
Last day for departments to submit Comprehensive Exam Report forms May 2, Friday May 2, Friday May 2, Friday May 2, Friday
Final Examinations May 3, Saturday;  May 5, Monday - May 9, Friday As set by instructor May 3, Saturday;  May 5, Monday - May 9, Friday May 3, Saturday;  May 5, Monday - May 9, Friday
Spring Graduate Commencement Ceremony May 9, Friday May 9, Friday May 9, Friday May 9, Friday
For deadlines for dynamic courses, please contact your department.
2025 SUMMER GRADUATE ACADEMIC CALENDAR
FULL SEMESTER (8-WEEK)
FIRST HALF-SEMESTER (4-WEEK)
SECOND HALF-SEMESTER (4-WEEK)
  June 16 - Aug. 10 June 16 - July 13 July 14 - Aug. 10
Last day to submit Application for Graduation for Summer 2025 in MyNIU June 5, Thursday June 5, Thursday June 5, Thursday
Last day for Summer 2025 graduates to submit Request for Oral Defense of Thesis or Dissertation June 6, Friday June 6, Friday June 6, Friday
Classes Begin June 16, Monday June 16, Monday July 14, Monday
Juneteenth (university closed) June 19, Thursday June 19, Thursday N/A
Last day to add or drop course(s) via self-service in MyNIU June 22, Sunday June 18, Wednesday June 22, Sunday
Last possible day for Summer 2025 graduates to hold an Oral Defense June 27, Friday June 27, Friday June 27, Friday
Last day for Summer 2025 graduates to submit Results of Oral Defense form July 3, Thursday July 3, Thursday July 3, Thursday
Last day for Summer 2025 graduates to submit post-defense version of Thesis or Dissertation July 3, Thursday July 3, Thursday July 3, Thursday
Independence Day (university closed) July 4, Friday July 4, Friday N/A
Last day to change a course grading option (audit/credit) July 13, Sunday June 29, Sunday July 27, Sunday
Last day for departments to submit Certificate of Graduate Study forms July 15, Tuesday July 15, Tuesday July 15, Tuesday
Last day to withdraw from current course/term July 20, Sunday June 29, Sunday July 27, Sunday
Last day to change a major to be effective for summer session July 21, Monday July 21, Monday July 21, Monday
Last day for departments to submit Comprehensive Exam Report forms Aug. 8, Friday Aug. 8, Friday Aug. 8, Friday
Last day to add a course, change credit hours, or swap a course in special circumstances with Graduate School approval Aug. 3, Sunday July 6, Sunday Aug. 3, Sunday
Classes end Aug. 10, Sunday July 13, Sunday Aug. 10, Sunday
THERE IS NO AUGUST COMMENCEMENT.  AUGUST GRADUATES ARE INVITED TO THE DECEMBER COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY.
For deadlines for dynamic courses, please contact your department.