Jul 13, 2024  
2017-2018 Graduate Catalog 

College of Law

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Other Academic Units

Interim Dean: Marc W. Cordes, J.D., J.S.M.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs: Marc Falkoff
Associate Dean for Student Affairs: Kathleen Coles

The College of Law offers a three-year, full-time day program and limited enrollment, part-time study leading to the J.D. degree. The College of Law is fully accredited by the American Bar Association and is a member of the Association of American Law Schools. Student enrollment is approximately 300.

The College of Law is housed in Swen Parson Hall. The facilities as well as the student/faculty ratio promote a community atmosphere and maximize interaction between students and their law professors. The law library provides ample space for intensive study and reflection in quiet privacy and the latest in electronic legal research tools. A multipurpose moot courtroom, equipped with up-to-date technology, serves as a realistic setting for practical exercises in courtroom proceedings. In addition to academics, law students are involved in a wide variety of scholarly and cocurricular activities such as Law Review, several moot court and trial advocacy teams, and a foreign study program in France.

Application for admission is made through the College of Law, not through the Graduate School. Information regarding degree programs, academic requirements, application procedures, and tuition and fees is available from the College of Law Office of Admission and Financial Aid, Room 151, Swen Parson Hall (815-753-8595) or at http://law.niu.edu/law/. In addition, NIU undergraduates in selected majors may be eligible to apply to the College of Law under one of the NIU “3 + 3” programs. Students accepted into the College of Law pursuant to a “3 + 3” program can start law school immediately after their junior year and can complete both their undergraduate degree and a law degree in a total of six years. See also current undergraduate catalog.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Other Academic Units