Sep 30, 2022  
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog 

Music (MU–)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Information


Admission to programs in the School of Music is limited. See “Limited Admissions and Limited Retention Requirements” in the Admission section of this catalog. 

The School of Music offers a Bachelor of Music (B.M.) degree with emphases in music education, performance, and composition and a Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree for students whose interests lie in acquiring a broad, liberal education.

Audition Procedures

Undergraduate admission for music majors is a two-part procedure. Every student must be accepted by the Office of Admissions and the School of Music in order to pursue a degree. The School of Music accepts students after they have successfully completed an audition, interview, and basic musicianship screening. While students may designate themselves as intended music majors when applying to the university, they do not formally achieve that status until all of the above procedures have been completed successfully. Students who wish to enroll in the composition emphasis must also submit written examples of their works. Prospective students may contact the School of Music for regularly scheduled audition and screening dates. Performance study is available in voice, piano, organ, woodwinds, brass, percussion, strings, guitar, and harp.


Music majors are expected to attend a specified number of recitals, concerts, and convocations. Music majors must attain a minimum grade of C in all 100- and 200-level music courses required for graduation in their degree program.

Depending on the emphasis chosen, all senior music majors are required to present a full or partial recital, submit a composition or research project, or complete an equivalent assignment. No credit is awarded.

Music Faculty

Andrew Glendening, D. Mus., Indiana University, professor, director
Orna Arania, D.M., Northwestern University, associate professor
Gregory Barrett, D.Mus., Indiana University, professor
Gregory Beyer, D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music, professor
Thomas Bough, D.M.A., Arizona State University, professor
Geof Bradfield, M.F.A. California Institute of the Arts, professor
Bobby Broom, M.M., Northwestern University, assistant professor
James Russell Brown, M.M., New England Conservatory, instructor
Robert Chappell, M.M., University of North Texas, Distinguished Teaching Professor, visiting professor
Christine D’Alexander, D.M.A., University of Southern California, assistant professor
Anthony Devroye, Performance Diploma, Curtis Institute of Music, professor
Mary Lynn Doherty, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, associate professor
Emily Fagan, M.M., University of Houston, instructor
Tom Garling, M.M., University of Miami, instructor
John Gaudette, Diploma, Curtis Institute of Music, instructor
William Goldenberg, D.Mus., Indiana University, Distinguished Teaching Professor
Brian Hart, Ph.D., Indiana University, professor
Eric Johnson, D.M.A., University of Illinois, professor
JeongSoo Kim, D.M.A., Eastman School of Music, associate professor
Edward Klonoski, Ph.D., Ohio State University, associate professor
Kelly Langenberg, M.M., De Paul University, instructor
Cheng-Hou Lee, D.M.A., New England Conservatory, associate professor
Blaise Magnière, M.M., Cleveland Institute of Music, associate professor
David Maki, D.M.A., University of Michigan, professor
Ella Marchment, B.A. Honours, King’s College London, instructor
Lucia Matos, D.M.A., University of Iowa, associate professor
Scott Metlicka, M.M., Northwestwern University, instructor
Ann Montzka-Smelser, M.M., Northern Illinois University, instructor
Dan Nichols, M.M., Northern Illinois University, instructor
John K. Novak, Ph.D., University of Texas, professor
Elinor Olin, Ph.D., Northwestern University, instructor
Brian Penkrot, Ph.D., University of Iowa, instructor
Marlene Rosenberg, M.M., Northwestern University, instructor
Christopher Scanlon, D.M.A., Stony Brook University, The State University of New York, assistant professor
Faye Seeman, M.M., Boston University, instructor
Robert L. Sims, Artistic Diploma, Northwestern University, professor
Linc Smelser, M.M., Northern Illinois University, instructor
Thomas Snydacker, M.M., Arizona State University, instructor
Mathias J. Tacke, Diploma, Northwest German Music Academy, professor
Liam Teague, M.M., Northern Illinois University, Presidential Research, Scholarship and Artistry Professor
Scott Tegge, Professional Diploma, Roosevelt University, instructor
An Tran, M.M., Yale University, instructor
Reggie Thomas, M.M., Southern Illinois University, professor
Rodrigo Villanueva, M.M., University of North Texas, professor
Ben Wahlund, M.M., Northern Illinois University, instructor
Jui-Ching Wang, D.M.A, Arizona State University, professor
Marie Wang, M.M., Northern Illinois University, professor
Pharez Whitted, M.M., Indiana University, instructor
Ronnie Wooten, D.M.A., Michigan State University, professor

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Information