Jun 23, 2024  
2022-2023 Undergraduate Catalog 

Computer Science (CSCI)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

 Admission to the major in the Department of Computer Science is limited. See “Limited Admissions and Limited Retention Requirements” in this catalog. 

The Department of Computer Science offers a program leading to the B.S. degree with a major in computer science. A student must choose an emphasis in software development, enterprise software, or computational software.

Students who intend to major or minor in computer science are requested to contact the departmental office during the early weeks of their first semester on campus to obtain additional information on admission to the computer science major or minor.

The department offers a course (CSCI 205) which partially fulfills the university’s sciences requirement in the general education program and courses which count toward the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences’ requirements for the B.S. degree.

Department Regulations

Students may not audit computer science courses without obtaining prior permission from the Department of Computer Science.

Computer Science Faculty

Nicholas T. Karonis, Ph.D., Syracuse University, professor, Chair
Hamed Alhoori, Ph.D., Texas A & M University, associate professor
Pratool Bharti, Ph.D., University of South Florida, assistant professor
Kirk Duffin, Ph.D., Brigham Young University, associate professor 
Raimund K. Ege, Ph.D., Oregon Graduate Institute of Science and Technology, associate professor
Reva Freedman, Ph.D., Northwestern University, associate professor
Minmei Hou, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, associate professor
David Koop, Ph.D., University of Utah, assistant professor
Michael E. Papka, Ph.D., University of Chicago, Presidential Research, Scholarship, and Artistry Professor
Mona Rahimi, PhD., University of Notre Dame, assistant professor
Maoyuan Sun, Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, assistant professor
Jie Zhou, Ph.D., Concordia University, professor 

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences