The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus

    Northern Illinois University
   
 
  Nov 23, 2017
 
 
    
2014-2015 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2014

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 18-22, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 25, Monday
Classes begin
August 31, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
September 1, Monday
Last day to apply for Fall 2014 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
September 1, Monday
Labor Day (university closed)
September 5, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of course department
September 5, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of major college
September 8, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Spring 2014 semester
September 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 19, Sunday
End of the first-half of the semester
October 20, Monday
Beginning of the second-half of the semester
October 26, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
October 27, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
October 27, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
November 7, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
November 14, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
November 14, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half semester courses to withdraw from the university
November 21, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester
November 26-30, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break
December 1, Monday
Classes resume
December 6, Saturday
Classes end
December 8, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Summer 2014 session
December 8-13, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 14, Sunday
End of fall semester
December 14, Sunday
Undergraduate fall commencement and degree conferral

Spring Semester 2015

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 5-9, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 12, Monday
Classes begin
January 18, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
January 19, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed)
January 23, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of course department
January 23, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course with approval of major college
January 30, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
January 30, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 1, Sunday
Last day to apply for Spring 2015 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
February 6, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
March 6, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 7, Saturday
End of the first-half of the semester
March 8-15, Sunday - Sunday
Spring recess
March 16, Monday
Classes resume and beginning of second-half of semester
March 22, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
March 23, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
March 23, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
April 3, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
April 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
April 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-semester courses to withdraw from the university
April 13, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of ‘I’ (incomplete) from the Fall 2014 semester
April 17, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester
April 30, Thursday
Classes end
May 1, Friday
Reading Day
May 2, 4-8, Saturday, Monday - Friday
Final examinations
May 9, Saturday
Undergraduate spring commencement and degree conferral
May 10, Sunday
End of spring semester

Summer Session 2015

June 15, Monday
Last day to apply for Summer 2015 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
June 15, Monday
Classes begin
June 17, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-session or full-session course via self-service in MyNIU
June 18, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit with major college approval
June 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half session or full session course with approval of course department
June 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half or full session course with approval of major college
June 22, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-session from credit to audit or from audit to credit
June 26, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-session course
June 26, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in first-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
July 3, Friday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
July 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-session course
July 10, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in full-session courses to withdraw
July 12, Sunday
End of the first-half session
July 13, Monday
Beginning of second-half session
July 15, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU
July 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to declare a major effective summer session
July 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
July 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-course with approval of course department
July 17, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-session course with approval of major college
July 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-session course
July 24, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
August 9, Sunday
End of summer session
August 9, Sunday
Degree conferral