The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help

Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus Northern Illinois University Your Future, Our Focus

    Northern Illinois University
   
 
  Nov 23, 2017
 
 
    
2016-2017 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


For detailed information regarding Graduate School deadlines pertaining to application, admission, and graduation, see the official Graduate School Calendar, which is available on the website, www.niu.edu/grad.

Fall Semester 2016

August 16-19, Tuesday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 22, Monday
Beginning of classes
September 5, Monday
Labor Day Holiday (university closed)
November 23, Wednesday
Beginning of Thanksgiving break
November 28, Monday
Resumption of classes
December 5-10, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 10, Saturday
Commencement; fall 2016 degree date

Spring Semester 2017

January 9-13, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 16, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday (university closed)
January 17, Tuesday
Beginning of classes
March 12, Sunday
Beginning of spring break
March 20, Monday
Resumption of classes
May 5, Friday
Reading Day
May 6, 8-12, Saturday, Monday-Friday
Final examinations
May 12, Friday
Commencement; spring 2017 degree date

Summer Session 2017

June 19, Monday
Beginning of classes
July 4, Tuesday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
August 13, Sunday
Summer 2017 degree date
August 13, Sunday
End of summer session