Sep 20, 2018  
2018-2019 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2018-2019 Undergraduate Catalog

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2018

April-August
New student and family orientation sessions
August 20-24, Monday-Friday
Department, college, and university faculty meetings
August 27, Monday
Classes begin
September 1, Saturday
Last day to apply for Fall 2018 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
September 2, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
September 3, Monday
Labor Day (university closed)
September 4, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester course with approval of course department
September 4, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester course with approval of major college
September 7, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a full-semester course with approval of course department
September 7, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a full-semester course with approval of major college office
September 10, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Spring 2018 semester
September 14, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 14, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
September 21, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
October 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
October 21, Sunday
End of the first-half of the semester
October 22, Monday
Beginning of the second-half of the semester
October 28, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
October 29, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
October 29, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
November 9, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
November 16, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
November 16, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half semester courses to withdraw from the university
November 21-25, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving break
November 26, Monday
Classes resume
November 26, Monday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the fall semester
December 8, Saturday
Classes end
December 10, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Summer 2018 session
December 10-15, Monday-Saturday
Final examinations
December 16, Sunday
End of fall semester
Undergraduate fall commencement

Spring Semester 2019

October-January
New student and family orientation sessions
January 7-11, Monday-Friday
Department and college faculty meetings
January 14, Monday
Classes begin
January 20, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-semester or full-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
January 21, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed)
January 22, Tuesday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half-semester course with approval of course department
January 21, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half-semester course with approval of major college
January 25, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a  full-semester course with approval of course department
January 25, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a full-semester course with approval of major college
February 1, Friday
Last day to apply for Spring 2019 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
February 1, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 1, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
February 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-semester course
March 8, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-semester course or from the university
March 9, Saturday
End of the first-half of the semester
March 10-17, Sunday - Sunday
Spring recess
March 18, Monday
Classes resume and beginning of second-half of semester
March 24, Sunday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-semester course via self-service in MyNIU
March 25, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-semester course with approval of course department
March 25, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-semester course with approval of major college
April 5, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-semester course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
April 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-semester course
April 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-semester courses to withdraw from the university
April 15, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to make up a mark of “I” (incomplete) from the Fall 2018  semester
April 19, Friday
Last day to change or declare a major to be effective for the spring semester
May 2, Thursday
Classes end
May 3, Friday
Reading Day
May 4, 6-10, Saturday, Monday - Friday
Final examinations
May 11, Saturday
End of spring semester
Undergraduate spring commencement

Summer Session 2019

June 15, Saturday
Last day to apply for Summer 2019 graduation via self-service in MyNIU
June 17, Monday
Classes begin
June 19, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a first-half-session or full-session course via self-service in MyNIU
June 20, Thursday
Last day for undergraduates to change a first-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit with major college approval
June 21, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a first-half session or full session course with approval of course department
June 21, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a first-half or full session course with approval of major college 
June 24, Monday
Last day for undergraduates to change a full-session from credit to audit or from audit to credit
June 28, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a first-half-session course
June 28, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in first-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
July 4, Thursday
Independence Day Holiday (university closed)
July 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a full-session course
July 12, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in full-session courses to withdraw
July 14, Sunday
End of the first-half session
July 15, Monday
Beginning of second-half session
July 17, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to add or drop a second-half-session course via self-service in MyNIU
July 17, Wednesday
Last day for undergraduates to change a second-half-session course from credit to audit or from audit to credit
July 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to declare a major effective for the summer 2019 session
July 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to add a second-half-course with approval of course department
July 19, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to drop a second-half-session course with approval of major college 
July 26, Friday
Last day for undergraduates to withdraw from a second-half-session course
July 26, Friday
Last day for undergraduates enrolled only in second-half-session courses to withdraw from the university
August 11, Sunday
End of Summer session