Jan 19, 2021  
2014-2015 Undergraduate Catalog 

History (HIST)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Information


Foreign Study in History

The Department of History encourages students to take advantage of study-abroad programs, which provide students of history and allied disciplines an opportunity to study first hand the historical development and traditions of other peoples and their cultures. Interested students should first consult the Office of International Programs for details of forthcoming programs and then contact their undergraduate adviser in history about including their study-abroad courses in their NIU program. For further information, see “International Programs” in the Other Academic Units Department.

History Faculty

James D. Schmidt, Ph.D., Rice University, professor, chair
Anita M. Andrew, Ph.D., University of Minnesota, associate professor
Stan Arnold, Ph.D., Temple University, associate professor
E. Taylor Atkins, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Presidential Teaching Professor
Bradley Bond, Ph.D., Louisiana State University, associate professor
Jerome Bowers, Ph.D., Indiana University, associate professor
Andrew Bruno, Ph.D., University of Illinois, assistant professor
Kenton Clymer, Ph.D., University of Michigan, Distinguished Research Professor
Sundiata Djata, Ph.D., University of Illinois, professor
Sean Farrell, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, associate professor
Heide Fehrenbach, Ph.D., Rutgers University, Distinguished Research Professor, Board of Trustees Professor 
Damián Fernández, Ph.D., Princeton University, assistant professor
Rosemary Feurer, Ph.D., Washington University, associate professor
Aaron S. Fogleman, Ph.D., University of Michigan, professor
Valerie L. Garver, Ph.D., University of Virginia, associate professor
Michael J. Gonzales, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, Distinguished Research Professor
Anne G. Hanley, Ph.D., Stanford University, associate professor
Beatrix Hoffman, Ph.D., Rutgers University, professor
Kristin Huffine, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, associate professor
Trude Jacobsen, Ph.D., University of Queensland, associate professor
Eric Jones, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, associate professor
Natalie Joy, Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles, assistant professor
Emma Kuby, Ph.D., Cornell University, assistant professor
Vera Lind, D. Phil., Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel, associate professor
Amanda Littauer, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, assistant professor
Eric W. Mogren, Ph.D., University of Michigan, associate professor
Ismael Montana, Ph.D., York University, associate professor
Barbara M. Posadas, Ph.D., Northwestern University, professor
Brian Sandberg, Ph.D., University of Illinois, associate professor
Andrea Smalley, Ph.D., Northern Illinois University, assistant professor
J. Harvey Smith, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, associate professor
Nancy Wingfield, Ph.D., Columbia University, Presidential Research Professor

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Information