Jun 24, 2024  
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog 

Communication (COMS, JOUR)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Information

The Department of Communication offers both a B.A. degree and a B.S. degree for majors in communication studies and in journalism. Students may pursue a double major in communication studies and journalism or a major in one area and a minor in the other. Further, communication studies majors can pursue emphases 1 and 2 or emphases 2 and 3.

In addition, the department offers courses of study leading to a minor in communication studies, which can be tailored to meet a variety of interests including educator licensure; a minor in journalism; and an interdisciplinary minor in applied communication which is offered jointly with the Department of English. Several of the department’s lower-division courses can be used by non-majors toward fulfilling area requirements in the university’s general education program.

Internship opportunities are available for academic credit and/or transcript recognition for both communication studies and journalism students in related areas such as advertising, sales, promotions, human resources, special events, public relations, writing/editing, creative/technical production, web design, graphic design, broadcasting, marketing, education, politics, newspaper/ management, photojournalism, film, consulting, training, and public speaking. Interested students should consult with the departmental director/coordinator of internships.

Certain communication studies courses are also offered for the interdisciplinary minors in applied communication, international studies, linguistics, public administration, and women’s studies.

In no case does the Department of Communication allow a course to count twice in any double major, double emphasis, or major-minor combination.

Communication Studies and Journalism Faculty

Gary Burns, Ph.D., Northwestern University, professor, chair
Gretchen Bisplinghoff, Ph.D., Northwestern University, assistant professor emeritus
Ferald J. Bryan, Ph.D., University of Missouri, associate professor
Kate Cady, Ph.D., University of Iowa, associate professor
Randy Caspersen, M.F.A., Columbia College, assistant professor
William Cassidy, Ph.D., University of Oregon, associate professor
Jeffrey P. Chown, Ph.D., University of Michigan, Distinguished Teaching Professor, Board of Trustees Professor, emeritus
David Gunkel, Ph.D., DePaul University, Distinguished Teaching Professor
Andrea Guzman, Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, assistant professor
Janice D. Hamlet, Ph.D., Ohio State University, associate professor
David Henningsen, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, professor
Mary Lynn Henningsen, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, professor
Richard Holt, Ph.D., University of Illinois, professor
Betty La France, Ph.D., Michigan State University, professor
Jimmie Manning, Ph.D., University of Kansas, associate professor
Robert Miller, Ph.D., Northwestern University, associate professor emeritus
Joseph Scudder, Ph.D., Indiana University, Distinguished Teaching Professor 
Mehdi Semati, Ph.D.,University of Missouri-Columbia, professor
Craig Seymour, Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park, associate professor
Kathleen S. Valde, Ph.D., University of Iowa, associate professor
Laura Vazquez, Ph.D., Northwestern University, Board of Trustees Professor
Karen Whedbee, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, associate professor
Kerith Woodyard, Ph.D., University of Utah, associate professor


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Information